12 candidates file for City Council, police chief

City of San Angelo

Twelve candidates filed to run for San Angelo City Council or police chief  before the 5 p.m. Feb. 19 deadline.

Candidates in the May 7 election for police chief are Frank Carter, Jeff Davis, Mike Hernandez and Tim Vasquez.

Trinidad Aguirre Jr. and Bill Richardson are running for the Single Member District 1 seat; Daniel Cardenas and Harry Thomas for the SMD 3 seat; and R.A. Cantrell, Matthew Lane Carter, Elizabeth Grindstaff and Martin William Guinn are vying for the SMD 5 seat.

To cast a ballot in the election, voters must be registered to vote by April 7.

Information on how to register can be found at votetomgreencounty.org.

According to the release from the City of San Angelo, early voting will be from April 25 to May 5 in the Tom Green County Elections Office on the first floor of the Edd B. Keyes Building, 113 W. Beauregard Ave.

On Election Day which is May 7, polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Information about the election and the 21 locations voters may cast their ballots at can be found at cosatx.us/May2016