ASU Press Release:

The Angelo State University Symphony Orchestra will present its final performance of the 2018 spring semester on Thursday, April 26, in the Murphey Performance Hall at the San Angelo Performing Arts Center (SAPAC), 82 Gillis St. in downtown San Angelo.

Titled “Rites and Celebrations,” the concert will begin at 7:30 p.m. and is open free to the public. To help celebrate its fourth year on campus, the ASU Symphony Orchestra will also welcome special guest artist Annie Chalex-Boyle, assistant professor of violin at Texas Tech University, and the San Angelo Central High School Varsity Orchestra directed by Emilee Hall-Rocha.

The repertoire for the concert will include:

  • Hungarian March from “The Damnation of Faust Op. 24” by Hector Berlioz
    ASU Symphony Orchestra
  • “Romance for Violin and Orchestra Op. 50 in F Major” by  Ludwig van Beethoven
    ASU Symphony Orchestra featuring Annie Chalex-Boyle on violin
  • Waltz from “The Sleeping Beauty Op. 66” by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
    ASU Symphony Orchestra
  • “Mont Juic Op. 12” by Benjamin Britten
    ASU Symphony Orchestra and Central Varsity Orchestra
  • “Rites of Tamburo” by Robert W. Smith
    ASU Symphony Orchestra and Central Varsity Orchestra

The ASU Symphony Orchestra comprises more than 40 student musicians and is directed by Dr. Fagner M. Rocha, assistant professor of music.

Reservations for the concert can be made on the SAPAC website at