Ram Club wins state rugby title

The Angelo State University Ram rugby football club snared the National Small College Rugby Organization’s Lonestar Conference Championship Feb. 28 in San Antonio.

The team from ASU beat St. Edward’s University’s club, 74-53, in the final game making ASU the de facto Texas state champion and qualifies them for the Cowboy Cup competition April 2-3 in Albuquerque, New Mexico. That competition will pit them against rugby club teams from colleges in NSCRO’s Rocky Mountain Conference. The Cowboy Cup also doubles as the first round of the NSCRO National Champion’s Cup playoffs.

ASU entered the Lonestar Conference Tournament after completing an undefeated 16-1-0 regular season. They also won the South Texas Rugby and the Heart of Texas tournaments.

Ram players include Tadeo Canon Masjon, Charles Chester, Derrick Clifton, Watkin Cocker, Gavin Crowder, Trevor Dailey, Preston Granzin, Tyler Holder, Geoffrey Johnston, Anthony Kisiday, Troy Knudsen, Tashir Newsome, Paul Nguyen, Jacob Reed, Kevin Reid, Glenn Revell, Kenneth Roller, Brian Signorelli, Mashersad Soedersono, Emmett Spooner, Mychael Tijerina, Stetson Timmons, Austin Vandiver, Beau Waskom and Andre Zamudio.

The team’s student coach is Dundy Walker; and faculty advisor is Dr. John Klingemann, chair of the Department of History and interim chair of the Department of Communication and Mass Media.

Unlike intramural teams, ASU club sports teams are registered student organizations that are directed and funded by the Office of Student Life and overseen by the Club Sports Council.

More details on all ASU club sports teams are available at angelo.edu/services/student_organizations/club_sports.php.