Gov. Abbott declares state of disaster of 9 Texas counties

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott declared a state of disaster in nine Texas counties Monday because of torrential rains and flooding.


As the severe weather continues across the state, Abbott declared the state of disaster in Austin, Bastrop, Fort Bend, Colorado, Grimes, Harris, Montgomery, Waller and Wharton counties.

“There will be probably more counties that will be declared. These warnings will continue for substantial parts of Texas, there will be parts of Texas that will continue to receive rain over the coming days. There will be parts of Texas that will not get any rain, however, they will be subject to higher rising water and still ongoing floods.” Abbott said in a press conference.

“Please remember the easy phrase, ‘Turn Around, Don’t Drown.'” Abbott said, urging Texas drivers to heed all warnings in the state.

Abbott received a briefing at the Department of Public Safety’s State Operations Center Monday afternoon and held a press conference immediately afterwards.

To watch Governor Abbott’s press conference, click on the link below.