Gov. Abbott adds 15 additional Texas counties to disaster declaration

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott added 15 additional counties as being in a state of disaster Wednesday, bringing the state’s total to 46.


Abbott added Brown, Caldwell, Callahan, Clay, Comanche, Eastland, Falls, Hardin, Harris, Houston, Madison, Somervell, Stephens, Travis and Trinity counties to the June 1 disaster declaration following severe weather and flooding in parts of Texas. Additional counties may be added as damage assessments are submitted.

ORIGINAL STORY: A state of disaster has been declared by Texas Gov. Greg Abbott in 31 states because of severe flooding associated with strong showers and thunderstorms that have moved through the state.

On Wednesday, Abbott declared a state of disaster in Austin, Bandera, Bastrop, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Coleman, Colorado, Erath, Fayette, Fort Bend, Grimes, Hidalgo, Hood, Jasper, Kleberg, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Lubbock, Montgomery, Palo Pinto, Parker, Polk, Robertson, San Jacinto, Tyler, Walker, Waller, Washington and Wharton counties.

On May 27, Abbott raised the activation level of the State Operations Center in Austin and urged Texans to stay on high alert and immediately heed any warnings from local officials related to the severe flood threat.

“As our state continues to face waves of severe weather and potential flooding, it is crucial that Texans remain vigilant and heed warnings and any evacuation notices from local officials in their areas,” Abbott said. “The State of Texas stands ready to assist all counties affected by severe weather and has dedicated the resources necessary to ensure the safety of those at risk. I would like to thank the first responders who have rescued residents from rising waters and ask all Texans to keep those affected in their thoughts and prayers.”

A release from the governor’s office said the State Operations Center continues to coordinate with the National Weather Service and its West Gulf River Forecast Center to monitor river conditions. The SOC also continues to coordinate with the Texas Emergency Management Council and is providing state resources and assistance to local leaders as requested.

State agencies activated and responding to the event include the Texas Department of Public Safety, Texas Division of Emergency Management, Texas Military Department, Texas Department of State Health Services, Texas A&M Forest Service, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, Texas General Land Office, Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service/Texas Task Force 1, Texas Department of Transportation, Texas Park and Wildlife Department, Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services, Texas Health and Human Services Commission, Texas Animal Health Commission, and the American Red Cross, The Salvation Army and many other volunteer organizations active in disaster.