City’s public information office wins 6 statewide awards for video storytelling

The City of San Angelo’s Public Information Office has won six additional statewide awards for video storytelling.

According to a press release from the office, on Sept. 19 at the annual conference of the Texas Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors, San Angelo earned:

  • The Kurt Ugland Programming Impact Award for a video tribute to SAPD Sgt. Korby Kennedy, who was killed in the line of duty in 2015. The award honors the video that “most influenced people’s perceptions by touching their hearts and minds.” The video won the prize over an entry from the City of Austin.
    “Remembering the Fallen: Sgt. Korby Kennedy” also won second place in the documentary category.
  • First place in the community event coverage category for “Game Changer” about the Recreation Division’s basketball league for special-needs children.
  • Second place in the public education category for “Did Your Butt Start this Fire?”
  • Second place in the event/program promotion category for “#ThisPlaceMatters.” The video about San Angelo’s charms has been viewed 260,000 times online.
  • A second-place award in partnership production for content produced for the Standard-Times’ 20 Under 40 recognition program of local young leaders.

The programming was originally broadcast on SATV, the City’s government access channel on Suddenlink cable channel 117. The videos can be viewed on the City’s YouTube channel at

This is the fourth consecutive year the Public Information Office has won awards in TATOA’s statewide video competition. In June, the office won three video awards from the Texas Association of Municipal Information Officers.

“It’s satisfying to have our work shine when compared to public information offices with far greater resources,” City Videographer Brian Groves said. “It’s even more gratifying that our citizens appreciate – and are often pleasantly surprised by – the engaging video programming we regularly produce.”

TATOA is a professional organization of those responsible for telecommunication policies, services and video programming in local governments.